Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Cycling along country lanes

2 Comments

Another day of garden bioblitz.  Seven frogs seen in our tiny pond all at once.  Here’s one peeping out under a lily pad.

Frog under water-lily

I decided to cycle today, as my foot still feels a bit bruised from all the jumping in the Jillian Michaels shred!  About 40 minutes along country lanes, seeing hawthorn, cow parsley, buttercups and red campion in flower, and I spotted an Orange-tip and two Brimstone butterflies too.  Lovely.  I didn’t have my camera with me though.  Cycled just over 10 km in 40 minutes.  It was lovely in the sunshine.

This Burnet Rose (Rosa spinosissima or Rosa pimpinellifolia) is in full flower in our garden and is beautifully scented.   Later on it has black hips.

Burnet Rose

Author: Hedwigia

Gardener, wildlife geek, and very slow runner.

2 thoughts on “Cycling along country lanes

  1. I think I have the same rose in my garden. Must go check tomorrow. I love your nature posts. Happy cycling!

  2. Love the frog – looks like he’s found the perfect balance of sunshine and shade

Leave a Reply

