Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Crossing to Safety by Wallace Stegner

7 Comments

Couldn’t resist a prompt to write about a book I’ve enjoyed.  Prompt from the Daily Prompt.

The last book I read was a book group one: Crossing to Safety by Wallace Stegner

Everyone that read it enjoyed it.  I hadn’t finished it by the time of the book group evening, and actually decided to miss the meeting, because I wanted to finish it before I talked about it, as I was so engrossed in it.  Someone else commented that it took quite a while to read, as they didn’t want to get to the end, and I’d agree with that.  Nothing much happens as such; it is far more about how relationships change, or don’t, over long periods of time, and how people communicate, or don’t.  One of the couples is a strong woman and a man who is somewhat ruled by her – interestingly, it was the man that people felt was the more sympathetic character.  Interesting – strength isn’t necessarily attractive.

I really enjoyed the sense of place, particularly the northeast USA woods.  I really felt as though I’d been there.

A good book – not particularly easy, as all the characters had hard loads to bear, but definitely one that has stayed with me.  I’d recommend it.

Author: Hedwigia

Gardener, wildlife geek, and very slow runner.

7 thoughts on “Crossing to Safety by Wallace Stegner

  1. Thats the sign of a good book when you don’t want it to finish I think.

  2. I haven’t thought of “Crossing to Safety” – “Angle of Repose” is on my to-read list, maybe I should add “Crossing.” It is his last novel. Love the bood cover.

    Thanks for sharing.

  3. Pingback: “North by Northwestern;” Reality Without The Drama | The Jittery Goat

  4. I love getting book recommendations. Especially as I am now charged with choosing the next one for our bookclub. Not sure if unlikeable characters will go down well with my crew though but it`s obviously worth looking into.

  5. Oh no, definitely consider it. All the characters were interesting, and we were all glad we’d read it. I find choosing the next book group book a heavy responsibility! I’ve got a list somewhere of all our previous books and how we rated them – but every group is different of course.

  6. Pingback: THIS MIRROR, MY IMAGE, THEIR GATE | hastywords

Leave a Reply

