Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Damselflies

3 Comments

Sunny afternoon in the garden, and I’ve seen a pair of Large Red Damselflies by our pond.  They kindly sat very still for their photos to be taken.  Despite the name, they are not that big – 4 or 5 cm long.  I was even able to get one to walk onto my finger for a moment or two – they are not nearly as flighty as butterflies.

I was surprised to see two huge tadpoles in the pond too; I haven’t seen them since they’d just hatched out of the frogspawn weeks ago.  I’m glad some of them haven’t been eaten by the newts.

It’s too hot to run. Maybe I’ll go out later on… or maybe not.   🙂

male Large Red Damselfly

A male Large Red Damselfly.

pair of Large Red Damselflies

A pair of Large Red Damselflies. Female, with black and yellow stripes, is below, and male above.

tadpole

Monster tadpole – about 3 cm long.  Really quite pretty.

Author: Hedwigia

Gardener, wildlife geek, and very slow runner.

3 thoughts on “Damselflies

  1. WOW, WOW, WOW, you are very good with your camera, or did you pay your subjects large sums of money to pose!! Loving the tadpole, looks like something from dark deep waters. 🙂

  2. Thank you. 🙂

    He he! I just have a very fine and dandy camera, and love playing with it! I think that’s a wee whale really, not a tadpole! 😀

    Pity my camera can’t do my running for me though. 😉

  3. Are damselflies the same thing as dragonflies, I wonder?

Leave a Reply

