Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Bugs!

5 Comments

My back was OK again today, hurrah!  Yoga rules.  I went for a walk to look for butterflies and dragonflies as it was sunny. I didn’t see many, and they were all camera-shy, so I ended up taking pictures of various other bugs instead. I used to be really scared of crane flies, or Daddy-long-legses (? dubious plural) but they can be quite pretty, rather like dragonflies.  Apparently there are loads of different UK species (hundreds!)  There was quite a range of colours in the insect world today.

I walked 2.5 km (in about 2 hours – taking photos is very time-consuming when bug-chasing) and ran a tiny bit, but it was on a sideways slope, and pretty uncomfortable, so when a moth distracted me, I stopped and didn’t start up again.

6-spot Burnet Moth

6-spot Burnet Moth

Bee-like fly

Bee-like fly – looks like a bee, but it has a fly’s eyes

Crane fly

A crane fly

Crane fly

A different crane fly with pretty wings

Red and black froghopper

Red and Black Froghopper – startling!

Blue-bottle

Blue-bottle – I have always hated flies with a passion, but have to admit that this is quite striking

Author: Hedwigia

Gardener, wildlife geek, and very slow runner.

5 thoughts on “Bugs!

  1. Hmmm, it takes a LOT to admire the sheen on a blue bottle. Fraid I don`t have it in me. Nice pics though!

  2. You have wonderful photos on your blog! We would love for you to become an author at wildlifehub (wildlifepic.wordpress.com). Email wildlifehub@yahoo.com for more information.

  3. You have the most amazing outings and I’m so pleased you share all your findings. Please don’t stop after Juneathon.

    • Well, thank you, ma’am! I’m not sure whether the time it takes to blog is really justified, but I do enjoy sharing my pictures with some appreciative souls. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

