Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Bees

6 Comments

Quick update as I need to cook.   Short walk today, hunting for bees. I’ve just found BeeWatch, where you can upload photos and use a really good id tool to identify them (and get them checked by an expert). Much easier than looking through a book.  I’m pretty sure this one is a Tree Bee, a relatively new species in the UK (since 2000).  They loved the snowberry flowers.

Tree Bee

Tree Bee

Author: Hedwigia

Gardener, wildlife geek, and very slow runner.

6 thoughts on “Bees

  1. Gorgeous pic. What kind of camera do you use? I took one using my ordinary old Samsung digital camera today and it`s not nearly as clear as your. Will put it in my next blog post. Oh, and thanks for the Beewatch tip. I love those little creatures.

  2. Thank you. It’s a Sony HX-200. A ‘bridge’ camera – between compact and DSLR. A bit heavy to lug about, but I wanted to be able to take sharp close-ups so I could identify things. It’s also got an an amazing zoom – I took a photo of a woodpecker yesterday, from ever such a long way off (could barely see it at all with the naked eye), and by zooming in on the zoomed in photo I could easily identify it. Picture of the camera here – http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/5598359.htm

    That beewatch site is great – I already feel more confident identifying them!

  3. I’ll have to check out that site. I don’t see many around here, though. When I lived in California, there was hive in an old truck body behind the shop. Many bees and honey a couple times.

    • I’m intrigued to know how you got the honey – or was it just a standard hive? (I’m visualising wild bees in a broken down old truck.)

      • That’s what it was, wild bees in an old utility bed of a truck. A friend had done it before and he and my ex put on coveralls and duct taped the wrists and ankles. They used smoke and took some of the honeycombs out. We had honey for the year. It was great and very local from our fruit trees, my roses, and some of the trees. The 2nd time they did it, I stood about 50 ft away with the video camera. All of a sudden there is a few buzzing me and you can hear me in the video, screaming and running. It was funny and the honey was great. Thanks for asking, good memory.

  4. So glad I asked – that is a great story! Wild bee honey sounds wonderful. Is that video on youtube? I think it should be. He he!

Leave a Reply

