Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

S-t-r-e-t-c-h

8 Comments

An hour and a half of yoga at our after-school staff session.  I almost ducked out, when I realised that it was going to be a very select class, with only myself and two others in the group, as everyone else was over-committed with end-of-termness.  However, I knew it would be good to stretch out after yesterday’s run, so I didn’t let myself run off home, tempting though it was.

It’s funny how much harder I found it to relax being in such a small group.  I like being able to hide in the background, and that’s not too easy when there are only two others.  The teacher is good at making us all feel we’re doing well though, so it was an enjoyable class, and I was so chilled in the final relaxation that I kept having to pull myself back from the fringes of sleep.

We learnt a different variation of the warrior pose that is apparently better for the knees than the one we’d done before, with knees kept straight instead of with a slight twist.  The reasoning seemed good, but it was hard work on calves that had been running yesterday.  I think I’ll need to practise it little and often to build them up a bit.

Now, I wonder whether I’ll go for a run tomorrow?

Author: Hedwigia

Gardener, wildlife geek, and very slow runner.

8 thoughts on “S-t-r-e-t-c-h

  1. Would love to be able to do yoga but having done pilates for 16 years would perhaps find the different breathing hard to get used to. At the moment though I wouldn’t have the time to dedicate to it. Sounds a wonderful way to end a working day though. 🙂

    • My brother did pilates for back trouble and it was really effective. I did look at it online when I was doing the 5×50 challenge, but then the offer of after-work yoga came up, so yoga won instead.

      I’m not surprised you don’t have time to dedicate to yoga with all the things you do already. Are you going to carry on doing them all?

  2. How do you feel today? Warrior is very powerful, especially for women. Are you all energy today? 🙂

  3. Gotta love being at the back of a class-especially with only two others around. The back of the class is where all the fun is! Hey! Congrats on the fundraising at Warwick too-I`ve just seen the widget on this page.

  4. Hi H just letting you know that I`ve nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. There are certain requirements for this as you`ll see on my most recent post.
    Thank you for all your inspiring posts on running and all that you see along the way!

    • Well, thank you very much for that! It might take me a while to get round to passing it on, but I can see you’ll understand that! 🙂 Nothing very interesting to blog about at the moment, but I’m off to Sheffield to help daughter number two to move house, so might get some pics from there.

Leave a Reply

