Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Jellyfish

5 Comments

When we were on holiday last week, we saw a jellyfish in the harbour at Wells-next-the-sea. The photo isn’t the sharpest by far (!), but it was fascinating watching it move in the water, and it prompted me to write a haiku.

Jellyfish

Jellyfish

Jellyfish pulsates
As though breathing. Ghostly grey
Bellows of the sea.

I was reminded of it by the wonderful jellyfish pictures on Amy’s blog, here.

Fitness-wise – I ran a mile again today, and that makes four consecutive days of exercise (run, yoga, run, run). I really want to keep it up – it makes me feel good.

Author: Hedwigia

Gardener, wildlife geek, and very slow runner.

5 thoughts on “Jellyfish

  1. Is that an Irish sea jellyfish? Four purple rings on top? Have to say they scare the bejaysus outta me when I`m in the water! Oh, nice to look at, pulsating and all that but the sting is like being whipped with nettles!

  2. Not sure what colour the rings were – it was pretty murky and not very close to us. It was in the North Sea (off Norfolk) – and thankfully we didn’t meet any when we were swimming. Hope I never do either, it sounds horrible!

  3. I’m another person that hates jellyfish, they make me shudder just thinking about them. I’m impressed with your exercises Greenlegs and your right the more you do the better you feel. Keep up the good work.

  4. This is my first time in your blog and I have to say that I love it!!
    It’s nice to find someone that makes so amazing posts about biodiversity, animals, flowers, poetry…and with photographs so beautiful. Photography is one of my favourites hobbies and an important part of my life.
    Excuse me if I’ve made some mistakes writing in English…

Leave a Reply

