Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

A year of healthy changes

5 Comments

My year of health-based changes – a response to this health and wellness prompt.

Last summer I found out that I was coeliac, and needed to cut out gluten from my diet. No bread, pasta, pastry, cakes… Yes, I do miss them sometimes, and reading packets for ‘hidden’ gluten can be tedious. Some complete supermarket aisles are off-limits for me. It also make eating with others more complicated (Do I ask about ingredients or just eat lettuce and tomato?), but to be honest, I think I’m pretty fortunate. Someone else at work had similar symptoms at the same time, and had to have surgery for bowel cancer. All I’ve had to do is change my diet.

rice cakes

I discovered that I really like rice cakes a few months before being diagnosed as coeliac. Very convenient for lunches and on holiday.

Mrs Crimble's Jam Coconut Rings - gluten free and mmmmmmm!

Mrs Crimble’s Jam Coconut Rings – gluten free and mmmmmmm! I may have eaten rather too many of these.

In December I started the NHS couch to 5k running programme. It hasn’t all been easy – there have been some bumpy patches on the way, and weeks with very little running, but overall it has made me fitter, and changed the way I see myself. Most runners seem to run further and faster than me (and some dog-walkers are still faster), but I have repeatedly surprised myself with what I can manage, and that has made me stronger.

Along with running, I re-discovered yoga, after a 20-year break. Yoga has really helped me improve my posture, always pretty poor, and getting worse from too many laptop hours.

My most recent wellness move has been to find out more about mindfulness meditation. The yoga had started me off, and the web and various books have helped me on my way. I took some convincing that it could work for me, an obsessive-compulsive worrier, but I can definitely feel a real change.

I love being able to find little patches of calm and quiet – even a few seconds focusing on breathing or hearing the sounds around me can open up space when my mind starts whirling, and longer sessions give me time to catch up and slow down. If you’ve never tried it, go and read up on mindfulness meditation now!

So, what health changes should I try next?

Author: Hedwigia

Gardener, wildlife geek, and very slow runner.

5 thoughts on “A year of healthy changes

  1. Implementing real, long term change is difficult. I share some of your journey.
    I`m a long time yoga nut. Just haven`t indulged as much since I started running, ironically. But really, it`s a time thing.
    Meditation and mindfulness have kept me sane. Have you read Tolle? I particularly like him though I keep needing to hear him again and again.
    Gluten free? Yep, I should be! But I`ve put that off for another while!
    Brava you! You`ve made enough changes. Enjoy your life!

  2. I haven’t read any Tolle yet, but I have watched a youtube interview with him, which I really enjoyed.

    I don’t think I’d do the gluten-free thing if I didn’t need to – it’s a bit of a hassle, and I do miss eating good bread, especially on holiday when everyone else is trying local specialities. I like rice cakes, but not as much as newly-baked bread!

  3. I would be terrified if I was told I had to go gluten-free trying to suss out what foods I could and could not eat would drive me to distraction, I’ve very little patience for reading labels. I do however eat a healthy diet and always have, most of our meals are made from scratch, very little comes out oftins or packets thankfully.
    Your running has always amazed me Greenlegs, you are one of the few people I know that runs for pure pleasure, taking your camera with you and stopping to snap the insects whenever, not worrying about the time you will complete your run, you are for me what true running is all about, doing it YOUR WAY.
    I think for now you need to get truely settled into your new found healthy life style and enjoy it. Happy running & yoga and most of all photography.

  4. Pingback: Expression and the Art of Letting Go | The Seeker's Dungeon

Leave a Reply

