Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

A sad brown lime has a yummy ending

5 Comments

Trundling around the blogosphere using my newfound Topic searching skills I came across Sheryl’s Being Fifty-something post on making lime curd from an excess of limes.

My first thought was that I only had one lime. And it was shrivelled and brown (ok, I should have thrown it away last week).

Lime

Does this look appetising? My sad little lime.

But I’d got the taste in my mind…  It’s years since I’ve made a citrus curd.  She’d also blogged about the importance of adults playing, and making just one jar sounded like play.

So here it is, one little pot of lemon and lime curd (no blueberries were hurt in preparation of this curd – The Blueberry Co makes a very tasty blueberry and lavender spread, but it didn’t last long).

The lime had so little juice that I sloshed in some lemon juice from a bottle. But it tastes mmmmmmmmmmmm.  Sheryl’s recipe came from here.  I cooked it in a pyrex bowl over a pan of boiling water, rather than directly in the pan.

Jar of lemon and lime curd

Lemon and lime curd

Author: Hedwigia

Gardener, wildlife geek, and very slow runner.

5 thoughts on “A sad brown lime has a yummy ending

  1. I am impressed! It looks mmmmmmmmmm. Thanks for the mention. S. 🙂

  2. Looks great. I have a sad lime and half a lemon rolling around in my fruit bowl. Might give it a go!

  3. You managed to get that much curd out of one little lime? Well done. Like the label! A prize winner indeed!
    Oh and thank you for giving me a new blog to follow!

    • I think it was mostly the lemon juice really. 🙂 Still, it’s pretty good – there’s only half a jar left, and for some reason I felt a bit ill last night… 😀 I kept just having one more dip with my finger…

Leave a Reply

