Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Ribbit, Ribbit. Admiring the flowers

8 Comments

I was reading Brookend Cottage’s blog about her garden, and her daughter’s sunflowers, and it reminded me of this little story.

We’d been to a ‘pick-your-own’ sunflower field near us.  It was amazing to walk through a whole field of taller-than-me flowers.  We picked a bunch for my mum’s birthday.  As it was quite warm, I left them on the back doorstep overnight.  In the morning, I had a surprise…

frog on sunflower

On our back doorstep – a frog sitting on a sunflower!

Well, that was three years ago, but it seemed a pity not to share the picture.

Today’s flowers are some late sweet-peas – I thought they’d all finished a while ago, but these are still hanging on and smelling divine. Our Gertrude Jekyll rose is having a second flush of flowers too – another good flower for sniffing.

Sweet Peas

Sweet Peas and an aster

Gertrude Jekyll rose

Gertrude Jekyll rose – she has a bit of black spot, but smells wonderful

Author: Hedwigia

Gardener, wildlife geek, and very slow runner.

8 thoughts on “Ribbit, Ribbit. Admiring the flowers

  1. I think that’s a prince and he’s checking out which flowers to take to his princess, that way he’s more likely to get that magic kiss!! 🙂 Beautiful pics and flowers, your garden must be devine to walk through to see and smell all those wonderful fragrances

    • I love that idea! I wonder if he got there… His descendants (or maybe not if he found his princess) are now hiding under a mass of lily-pads in the pond. Move a leaf and there’s a mad rush of ‘plopping’ into the water.

  2. Thanks for the mention :). What a lovely froggy story. Your sweet peas are gorgeous – what variety are they?

  3. Oh those sweet pea are just divine! Brilliant pics-in every sense of the word `brilliant`. So glad you shared that frog pic. It`s unbelievable. And yes, after a wonderful summer, I do believe I am coming to appreciate roses.

    • Roses have to be in the right place, and the right sort. I’m not interested in ‘hybrid tea’ fancy ones that don’t smell. Likewise sweet peas that look pretty but don’t smell. No point at all!

  4. Your photos are gorgeous! So glad you shared the one of the frog – I love frogs! 🙂

Leave a Reply

