Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Tewkesbury Abbey

7 Comments

We visited Tewkesbury today, and I had a pleasant wander round the graveyard looking for fungi.   Someone had kicked a lot of them to pieces, which seemed rather a pity.  It did mean I could see the gills clearly though.

Apparently the abbey church survived Henry VIII’s dissolution because the townspeople bought it from the king, as they insisted it was their parish church.  It’s a wonderful Norman building, with the feel of a cathedral rather than a church.  I paid for a photography licence (only £2) and enjoyed wandering round looking at the architecture.  There are several interesting monuments, including a spooky cadaverous one, which includes ‘vermin’ eating the remains of the body.  Gruesome!

Author: Hedwigia

Gardener, wildlife geek, and very slow runner.

7 thoughts on “Tewkesbury Abbey

  1. Photographic license? Hadn`t heard of that before. Love your pics, as always.

    • I put a donation in the collection box too, and something for a candle. Apparently it costs £5 a minute to maintain the building, so as I’d enjoyed looking round, it only seemed reasonable to contribute.

      I’m not religious, but it still feels special to light a candle in a church, and know that it is still burning after you’ve gone back out into the world. 🙂

  2. Lovely to see the photos of Tewkesbury Abbey – I have spent many hours in concerts and services there when we lived in Tewkesbury and my son was a chorister. I don’t remember noticing so much fungus – I’m not observant enough. There is a wonderful mulberry tree, though. In late summer the footpath has to be taped off to prevent everyone bringing mulberries into the Abbey on their shoes.

    • Glad you liked the pictures, Judy. I didn’t notice the mulberry, so I’m not very observant either! I love the idea of it being taped off to stop the Abbey getting messy. 🙂

  3. I need to visit Tewkesbury, I like photographing cathedrals and abbeys and I like your photos very much 🙂

Leave a Reply

