Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Blue cockerel and gluten-free pizza

6 Comments

On Monday, I had a trip to London, to the National Gallery, for a training day for school.  I enjoyed the museum –  we were looking at St Michael triumphs over the Devil for the Take One Picture project, but no photos from inside of course.

I loved Trafalgar Square in the sunshine.  It was a glorious day, and there were a variety of performance artists to distract the tourists, including a couple of ‘hovering’ human statues.  The tuba player had flames shooting out of the bell with every note (though my timing was wrong to catch it for the picture).

What do you think of the bright blue Hahn/Cock on the spare plinth?   According to Wikipedia, it is about “regeneration, awakening and strength”.  I just liked the colour against the sky, and its boldness.

The photos are not as sharp as I’d like, as I only had my phone on me, but I couldn’t resist doing the tourist bit.

For lunch, we went to Pizza Express, where I had my first pizza since finding out I was coeliac, just over a year ago.  It was gluten-free and really good – it didn’t taste noticeably different from an ordinary one, which was a very pleasant surprise, as most gluten-free bread is seriously disappointing.  I’ve just looked at their website, and they are clearly making an effort to keep the gluten-free hordes happy.  I’d definitely be happy to go again.  Recommended.  🙂

 

Author: Hedwigia

Gardener, wildlife geek, and very slow runner.

6 thoughts on “Blue cockerel and gluten-free pizza

  1. Great! Thank you for this. I had the most wonderful time in London a few years ago and must go back. Love your pic of the cockerel-it makes everything else in the photos seem surreal. Hadn`t heard of it before, but what I see of it here, I really like.
    I`d hate to live without an occasional pizza fix. Glad you got yours!

  2. I like doing the touristy thing too and I love the blue cockerel 🙂

  3. Some fab pics on your blog, so clear and colourful.

Leave a Reply

