Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Flustered by fluttering beauties

2 Comments

A few of the butterflies I saw on holiday in Wales, on the Ceredigion coast, and in gardens just inland in August.  Click on any picture for a slide-show.

The Grayling was a surprise – I thought I’d taken a picture of a Painted Lady until I checked it in the book.   I did see Painted Ladies too, but not close up.  I got quite excited about the Wall butterflies, as we don’t get them at home, and I can’t remember when I last saw one.

This was the best hunting though – I had to stalk it for ages, and I wasn’t sure what it was.  Then it came and sat on my leg!  I was so flustered that all I managed were several totally out of focus shots – but then it was kind enough to sit and pose for me – a Silver-Washed Fritillary, another new one for me.

Silver-washed Fritillary butterfly at Castell Henllys

Silver-washed Fritillary butterfly at Castell Henllys

Author: Hedwigia

Gardener, wildlife geek, and very slow runner.

2 thoughts on “Flustered by fluttering beauties

  1. Only the Tortoiseshell is familiar to pay. I will have to pay closer attention to these beautiful creatures.

  2. It’s ok – they’re all free! 😉

Leave a Reply

